Photo | Benoit Peverelli

Stacey Kent Wins 2023 Montreal International Jazz Festival’s Ella Fitzgerald Award

As Part of the 2023 Festival Awards, The Montreal International Jazz Festival honors George Benson, Avishai Cohen, Stacey Kent, Marisa Monte, and Edelene Fitzgerald.


From The Montreal International Jazz Festival

Stacey Kent Trio performs at the Montreal International Jazz Festival on July 1.

The Montreal International Jazz Festival, presented by the TD Bank Group in collaboration with Rio Tinto, highlights this year the exceptional contribution to the music of George Benson, Avishai Cohen, Stacey Kent, Marisa Monte, and Edelene Fitzgerald. These winners will be awarded, respectively, during the 43rd edition of the Festival, the prestigious Montreal Jazz Festival Spirit, Miles-Davis, Ella-Fitzgerald, Antônio-Carlos-Jobim, and Oliver-Jones awards.

Stacey Kent is the 23rd winner of the Ella-Fitzgerald Prize. On the occasion of its twentieth anniversary, in 1999, the Festival had the idea of creating this prize to reward a singer or a singer of jazz with remarkable talent having had an impact and a major influence on the international scene. With his warm, lyrical voice and poetic sense of standard interpretation, Stacey Kent is the very embodiment of the sophistication of jazz. Originally from New York, Kent made a loyal audience and praised for his debut in 1997, with Close Your Eyes. Since then, she has released 19 albums, which have earned her several awards as well as a GRAMMY nomination. In a trio configuration, she comes to Montreal to present the songs of her latest album, Songs from Other Places, published in 2021.

Stacey Kent succeeds China Forbes (2022), Melody Gardot (2019), Ben Harper (2018), Lizz Wright (2017), Gregory Porter (2016), Erykah Badu (2015), Diana Ross (2014), Holly Cole (2013), Liza Minnelli (2012), Sade (2011), The Manhattan Transfer (2010), John Pizzarelli (2009), Aretha Franklin (2008), Harry Connick, Jr. (2007), Etta James (2006), Al Jarreau (2005) Tony Bennett (2004), Bobby McFerrin (2003), Dianne Reeves (2002), Diana Krall (2001), Dee Dee Bridgewater (2000) et Diane Schuur (1999).