Photo by Creative Scotland

Nominations announced for the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022

The nominations have today been announced for the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards with the winners to be revealed at a ceremony on 5 July at PizzaExpress Live, Holborn

By Jazzwise Magazine


The Awards, organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group (APPJG) with the support of PizzaExpress Live. The recipients of the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards will be announced on Tuesday 5th July 2022. The Parliamentary Awards celebrate and recognise the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene throughout the United Kingdom.

The award categories reflect the ever-increasing scope of talent from within the UK’s jazz scene: Jazz Vocalist of the Year; Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year; Jazz Album of the Year; Jazz Ensemble of the Year; Jazz Newcomer of the Year; Jazz Venue of the Year; Jazz Media Award; Jazz Education Award; and the Services to Jazz Award.

Following the online public vote for the Awards, the shortlist was then voted upon by a selection panel, that represent a broad cross-section of backgrounds united in their passion and knowledge of jazz. The winners, chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group (APPJG), will be announced on Tuesday 5th July 2022.

John Spellar MP, Co-Chair of APPJG, said: “These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and energies of the great musicians, educators, promoters, record labels, jazz organisations, blogs, jazz magazines and journalists who have helped to keep jazz flourishing. These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 17th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honour the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.”

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year

Claire Martin
Emma Smith
Brigitte Beraha
Jo Harrop

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Tony Kofi
Xhosa Cole
Fergus McCreadie

Jazz Album of the Year

Matt Ridley, The Antidote
Daniel Casimir, Boxed In
Jo Harrop, The Heart Wants

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Kansas Smitty’s House Band
Black Top
Nikki Iles Jazz Orchestra

Jazz Newcomer of the Year

Deschanel Gordon
Alex Clarke
Emma Rawicz
Chelsea Carmichael

Jazz Venue of the Year

Toulouse Lautrec, London
The Globe, Newcastle upon Tyne
The Verdict, Brighton

Jazz Media Award

The Jazz Podcast
London Jazz News
Jane Cornwell

Jazz Education Award
Jazz Camp For Girls – Helena Summerfield
Nikki Yeoh
Pete Churchill

Services to Jazz Award

Mike Westbrook
Help Musicians
Dave Green
Nigel Price

For more info, visit www.pizzaexpresslive.com/parliamentary-jazz-awards.