Antonio Sanchez & Bad Hombre: Thana Alexa, Lex Sadler, BIGYUKI Photo by Jacob Blinkenstaff

Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross Join Antonio Sánchez on New Song: Listen

“I Think We’re Past That Now” leads the Birdman composer’s new album Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II)


By Madison Bloom for Pitchfork

The multi-instrumentalist and renowned drummer Antonio Sánchez has shared a new song featuring vocals from Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and, on synths, Atticus Ross. “I Think We’re Past That Now” leads Sánchez’s next album Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II), which arrives August 26 via Arts Music, a division of Warner Music. Sánchez produced the track and laid down drums, keyboards, guitars, bass, and additional vocals. Check out “I Think We’re Past That Now” and its accompanying visualizer below, and scroll down for the album’s tracklist and cover art.

In addition to Reznor and Ross, Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II) features a slew of guests, such as Dave Matthews, Becca Stevens, Meshell Ndegeocello, Kimbra, Rodrigo y Gabriela, and more. Sánchez commenced the project by approaching artists and asking them for songs to deconstruct and reimagine via his “Bad Hombre” alter-ego. “I Think We’re Past That Now,” which was co-written by Reznor, Ross, and Sanchez with lyrics by Reznor, is an exception to the method.


Of the album’s creation, Sánchez said in press materials:

My anger transformed. And the fact this material did not originate with me changed the equation. It helped me to bring a fresh perspective and a sense of wonder to “What else can this be?” And as a result of pandemic-related delays, I keep joking about my having been pregnant for a couple of years… and now there is a really epic baby.

Sánchez made his debut as bandleader with his 2007 LP Migration. In 2014, his soundtrack for Alejandro González Iñárritu’s film Birdman snagged a Grammy Award for Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media.


Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II):

01 Opening [ft. Ignacio López Tarso]
02 Eh Hee 2.0 [ft. Dave Matthews and Pat Metheny]
03 Mi Palabra [ft. Ana Tijoux]
04 The Bucket [ft. Becca Stevens]
05 I Think We’re Past That Now [ft. Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross]
06 Alambari [ft. Maro]
07 Doyenne [ft. Sonica]
08 Risa de Mujer [ft. Lila Downs]
09 Trapped (Red Room) [ft. Thana Alexa]
10 Comet, Come to Me [ft. Meshell Ndegeocello]
11 Waiting [ft. Antonio Sánchez]
12 Risa de Mujer (Interlude) [ft. Lila Downs]
13 El Agua y la Miel [ft. Silvana Estrada]
14 Suspended Animation [ft. Kimbra]
15 M-Power [ft. Rodrigo y Gabriela]
16 Closing [ft. Ignacio López Tarso]