Jon Cleary Named Offbeat Magazine’s 2018 Songwriter Of The Year

Offbeat Magazine hosted The 2018 Best of the Beat Music Awards on January 31 at Generations Hall in New Orleans. 


With more than 35 years as an esteemed member of the New Orleans music community, Jon Cleary was named Song Writer of the Year and Best Piano/Keyboard Player by Offbeat magazine.

Among the artists honored are Samantha Fish, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Jon Batiste, The Revivalists, and DJ Soul Sister. Lifetime Achievement Award in Music was awarded to Walter Wolfman Washington.

Photos | Full List Of Winners

Best R&B/Funk Artist: Big Sam’s Funky Nation

Best R&B/Funk Album: Big Sam’s Funky Nation: Songs in the Key of Funk, Volume 1 (Independent)

Best Rock Artist: The Revivalists

Best Rock Album: The RevivalistsTake Good Care (Loma Vista)

Best Rap / Hip-Hop / Bounce Artist: Alfred Banks

Best Rap / Hip-Hop / Bounce Artist Album: Curren$y & Freddie Gibbs: Fetti (Jet Life Recordings)

Best Traditional Jazz Artist: Preservation Hall Jazz Band

Best Traditional Jazz Album: Tuba Skinny: Nigel’s Dream (Independent)

Best Contemporary Jazz Artist: Jason Marsalis

Best Contemporary Jazz Album: Jon Batiste: Hollywood Africans (Verve)

Best Brass Band: The Soul Rebels

Best Cajun Artist: Steve Riley & the Mamou Playboys

Best Cajun Album: Kevin Naquin and the Ossun Playboys: Man in the Mirror (Flat Town)

Best Zydeco Artist: Dwayne Dopsie and the Zydeco Hellraisers

Best Zydeco Album: Chubby Carrier & the Bayou Swamp BandBlack Pot (Swampadelic Records)

Best Roots Rock Artist: Paul Sanchez

Best Roots Rock Album: Paul Sanchez: One More Trip Around the Sun (Independent)

Best Country/Folk/Singer-Songwriter Artist: Gal Holiday

Best Country/Folk/Singer-Songwriter Album: Gal HolidayLost and Found (HTRP Music)

Best Blues Performer: Samantha Fish

Best Blues Album: Walter “Wolfman” WashingtonMy Future is My Past (Anti)

Best Gospel Group: McDonogh #35 High School Gospel Choir

Best Cover Band: Bag Of Donuts

Best Female Vocalist: Samantha Fish

Best Male Vocalist: Cyril Neville

Best Bass Player: George Porter, Jr.

Best Guitarist: Samantha Fish

Best Drummer: Johnny Vidacovich

Best Saxophonist: Aurora Nealand

Best Clarinetist: Dr. Michael White

Best Trumpter: Leon “Kid Chocolate” Brown

Best Trombonist: Troy Andrews

Best Tuba/Sousaphonist: Matt Perrine

Best Piano / Keyboardist: Jon Cleary

Best Accordionist: Chubby Carrier

Best Violin / Fiddle Player: Amanda Shaw

Best DJ: DJ Soul Sister

Best Other Instrument: Johnny Sansone (harmonica)

Best Music Video: “All My Friends” The Revivalists, UMG (on behalf of Concord Loma Vista)

Best Emerging Artist: Bon Bon Vivant

Song Of The Year: “One More Trip Around the Sun” by Paul Sanchez and John Rankin

Songwriter Of The Year: Jon Cleary

Album Of The Year: Walter “Wolfman” WashingtonMy Future is My Past (Anti)

Artist Of The Year: Samantha Fish

More at offbeat.com