Photos Left to Right | Meredith Truax, Shervin Lainez, Gabriela Gabrielaa, Ebru Yildiz

Jazz Journalists Association: Jazz Performance and Recordings Awards 2023

Samara Joy, Emmet Cohen, Christian McBride, and Linda May Han Oh are among the winners of the Jazz Journalists Association’s Jazz Awards 2023.


From the Jazz Journalists Association

Congratulations to the 2023 Winners for Jazz Performance and Recordings, of the 28th annual Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards.  Professional journalist members of the JJA made open nominations in a first-selection round; those who received the most nominations advanced to the finalists’ ballot, and JJA’s professional members voted on them to arrive at these honorees.

Congratulations, of course, to all the 2023 Nominees for Performance & Recording in all categories. The full list of winners is listed below, with artists from the rosters of MWI and B Natural noted in bold.


Lifetime Achievement Award in Jazz: Charles Lloyd

Musician of the Year: Terri Lyne Carrington

Up & Coming Musician of the Year: Samara Joy

Composer of the Year: Miguel Zenón

Arranger of the Year: Maria Schneider

Record of the Year: New Standards Vol. 1, Terri Lyne Carrington

Historical Record of the Year: Emerald City Nights

Record Label of the Year: Smoke Sessions Records

Recordings Producer of the Year: Zev Feldman

Male Vocalist of the Year: Kurt Elling

Female Vocalist of the Year: Samara Joy

Vocal Group of the Year: The Manhattan Transfer

Large Ensemble of the Year: Arturo O’Farrill and the Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra

Mid-Size Ensemble of the Year: Christian McBride’s New Jawn

Duo of the Year: Fred Hersch / Esperanza Spalding

Trumpeter of the Year: Jeremy Pelt

Trombonist of the Year: Steve Turre

Brass Specialist of the Year: Steven Bernstein

Alto Saxophonist of the Year: Immanuel Wilkins

Tenor Saxophonist of the Year: Charles Lloyd

Baritone Saxophonist of the Year: James Carter

Soprano Saxophonist of the Year: Dave Liebman

Multiple Reeds Player of the Year: Roscoe Mitchell

Clarinetist of the Year: Anat Cohen

Flutist of the Year: Nicole Mitchell

Guitarist of the Year: Bill Frisell

Strings Player of the Year: Tomeka Reid

Pianist of the Year: Emmet Cohen

Keyboardist of the Year: Robert Glasper

Bassist of the Year: Linda May Han Oh

Electric Bassist of the Year: John Patitucci

Percussionist of the Year: Zakir Hussain

Mallet Percussionist of the Year: Joel Ross

Drummer of the Year: Brian Blade

Player of Instruments Rare in Jazz: Brandee Younger

Electronics Specialist of the Year: Val Jeanty